Rough Patches

Rough patches.  Nothing new to anyone struggling when they are faced with an attack (or flair-up) of old symptoms or the appearance of new.

My latest event, although not categorized as an attack or flair-up was a three-week severe pain cycle. If you do not know the kind you may have heard of someone who knows them well. This is the pain that leaves you unable to speak to your neurologist in a manner outside of simply “just help me” at the same time doing everything to will yourself from sobbing.

The first priority is how to get through it and get through it calmly.  There is born a whole new definition of calm.  You do the very best you can with that and frequently remind yourself you are only human yet feel like it requires no less than a superhuman. 

So I give myself credit where it is more than earned.  I was the superwoman who did get through it.  Give myself a deserved and again earned pat on the back.  I am thinking I should add a gold star to my journal for each of these cycles I passed, got through, even when in absence of the grace I strived for.

In general my exercise helps manage my pain.  For this I have always counted on and relied upon.  Reaching the exact formula for improvement in pain and the subsequent continued management is the key.  But this begs the question of what and how much exercise.

This time I found cutting back in run speeds, opposed to the number, and cutting back on the number of weight trains, as well as their length and my effort involved as the right recipe.  There is no exact science to this.  But starting at what you or your body sees as the very low end is a good place to begin and adjust it as necessary.  In the case of pain it will not take long to determine what adjustments are necessary.  Not long at all.

Exercise can help manage the stress, in particular the emotional stress such pain can craze you with.  Depression is too easy to fall into.  I call them black holes, getting your mind out of the black when the pain keeps pushing you toward it. 

When exercise can help manage such a tough time and possibly lessen amounts of additional medication needed then all the better.

My tolerance level of exercise will not meet everyone’s.  But if doing just a modification to whatever your exercise routine may be, opposed to taking it out completely is an approach you may find helpful.

These are my thoughts and experience of recent weeks, and similar methods I have applied in the past, which I wanted to share.

I hope it will be of some use to someone who may find themselves in a similar situation.  I know I am not alone in the struggles with pain. 

The only funny thing I have found about pain.  Yes, it is funny.  Bet you thought that didn’t exist?  Your pain can be a scapegoat for absolutely everything.  “I screwed up the driving directions, well you know the pain.”  “Did I say that? You know I was in a lot of pain”  “I did what wrong? I was in so much pain at the time” And the list goes on. 

Not that I would ever not own up to any mistake, use pain as a scapegoat, despite how tempting.  My conscience would never alow it.  But it is fun to think about.  It is also nice to find a positive, any positive side to pain.  These thoughts can help keep your heart light and humor strong.

And my pain is the reason the sun don’t shine don’t yah know. Yeah sure it is. But sometimes I have to make fun of myself too.

Leave a Reply

